We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Cookie Policy 
News Release

Medica Increases Presence in Nebraska

MINNETONKA, Minn. — Medica today announced it would increase its presence in Nebraska for the 2020 coverage year with expanded offerings in its Medicare plans. Medica currently serves Medicare-eligible individuals in 12 counties and individuals who purchase coverage on their own through the health insurance marketplace (healthcare.gov) in all 93 Nebraska counties.

With the expansion, Medica will have Medicare coverage available in 59 Nebraska counties. Medica collaborates with CHI Health and other local health care systems to provide a range of product offerings to meet the needs of the Medicare and individual markets. More information about Medica plans will be available on medica.com starting on October 1, 2019. People eligible for Medicare may view plan options starting October 1 and can begin enrolling on October 15. The Medicare Annual Open Enrollment period runs October 15 through December 7, 2019 for 2020 coverage. Also beginning October 1, Medica and its broker partners plan to host a number of Medicare workshops throughout Nebraska.

"We are delighted to expand our Medicare presence in Nebraska," said Tom Lindquist, Medica Senior Vice President for Government Programs. "Our experience in the state has been very positive and we are confident that with our partners we will be able to meet the health care needs of more Nebraskans in the Medicare market."

In 2021, Medica also plans to begin offering group health coverage in Nebraska.

Medicare plans will be available in these counties: Nebraska: Adams, Antelope, Boone, Boyd, Buffalo, Burt, Butler, Cass, Cedar, Clay, Colfax, Cuming, Custer, Dawes, Dixon, Dodge, Douglas, Fillmore, Franklin, Frontier, Furnas, Gage, Garfield, Gosper, Greeley, Hall, Hamilton, Harlan, Holt, Howard, Johnson, Kearney, Knox, Lancaster, Loup, Madison, Merrick, Nance, Nuckolls, Otoe, Pawnee, Phelps, Pierce, Platte, Rock, Saline, Sarpy, Saunders, Seward, Sherman, Stanton, Thayer, Thurston, Valley, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Wheeler, York; Iowa: Harrison, Pottawattamie, Mills.